The Dragon Warrior |Blog Tour

Hello lovelies!! I’m back with a review of this amazing book! I wanted to thank Shealea for letting me take part of this blog tour.

Title: The Dragon Warrior

Author: Katie Zhao

Publisher: Bloomsbury Kids

Publication date: 15 October 2019

Genres: Middle Grade, Fantasy

Goodreads | Amazon 

Rating:⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

As a member of the Jade Society, twelve-year-old Faryn Liu dreams of honoring her family and the gods by becoming a warrior. But the Society has shunned Faryn and her brother Alex ever since their father disappeared years ago, forcing them to train in secret.

Then, during an errand into San Francisco, Faryn stumbles into a battle with a demon–and helps defeat it. She just might be the fabled Heaven Breaker, a powerful warrior meant to work for the all-mighty deity, the Jade Emperor, by commanding an army of dragons to defeat the demons. That is, if she can prove her worth and find the island of the immortals before the Lunar New Year.

With Alex and other unlikely allies at her side, Faryn sets off on a daring quest across Chinatowns. But becoming the Heaven Breaker will require more sacrifices than she first realized . . . What will Faryn be willing to give up to claim her destiny?

Inspired by Chinese mythology, this richly woven contemporary middle-grade fantasy, full of humor, magic, and heart, will appeal to readers who love Roshani Chokshi and Sayantani DasGupta.

TW: death and violence 

The dragon warrior is a book about family, love , forgiveness and hope. It teaches that everyone can be a hero, no matter if you are living in another country, if you are part of an immigrant family or your skin color. Everyone is a hero of their own stories.

The world building was spectacular, I learned a lot about Chinese mythology, the culture and even got hungry while reading the food descriptions. I could feel the magic emanating from the book. The pace is easy to read and while reading it I didn’t notice how fast I was reading it.

I love the fact that is a family centered book, that the main character has a brother and doesn’t hate him like most characters do in books, plus she is super sassy and funny to read.

This is the book that all of us old Percy Jackson fans will love and the story children around the world need to read, it’s such a powerful story.

Schedule (The Dragon Warrior).png

Don’t forget to follow our schedule to see some amazing and creative post about this amazing book. There’s going to be a twitter chat with the author so you can ask all your questions, more info below!

 

Katie Zhao is a 2017 graduate of the University of Michigan with a B.A. in English and Political Science, and a 2018 Masters of Accounting at the same university. She is the author of Chinese #ownvoices middle grade fantasy THE DRAGON WARRIOR (Bloomsbury Kids, October 2019 & 2020), as well as a young adult author. She is a mentor for Author Mentor Match. She is currently open to freelance editorial services for young adult and middle grade manuscripts.

Website | Twitter | Instagram 

CBTTC (The Dragon Warrior).png

 

Are you excited to read this book??

Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s